RSS

The Lake Run

10 Nov

Yesterday I did a crazy thing, I woke up at 530 and got dressed to go run. I then drove to Salem Lake, which is a lake in the middle of the city. When I got there I met up with a few other ladies that are in Black girls run. All of us had different goals for the day but it helped knowing we are all there to support each other. My goal for the day was to walk/run 3 miles. So, we stretched and headed out on our way. It was cold, 26 degrees, the lake had fog coming off of it and was a scene out of a winter movie. As I started my round I walked the first couple of minutes. Then I noticed that within 3 minutes I could not feel my legs, face, fingers, or anything else. As I started to run, my pace was faster than normal, I think this is because I was numb, as I made my way around the lake I walked some and ran some. When I hit 1.45 miles I turned around mostly because I was cold, I had to go to the bathroom and I needed to get to work by 830am. As I ran I let my mind go, I thought about my breathing, the cold, what to do at work, what to make for dinner, my music and the list goes on. I realized then that is why I enjoy running, I get to relax and think about everything I want to think about and never have time to think about. When I got back to my car I had ran 2.95 miles in 41 minutes. It was not my best run and it was not my worse run. I had fun and I enjoyed what I was doing so all in all I think it was a success. I have 4 more weeks until my 5k that I want to run the entire race. i can do it, I have more work to do but I know I can do it. I have also decided if I am going to run in 26 degree weather I need cold weather leggings, tech gloves and glasses that don’t fog up. Today we start week 9 of the walk before you run program, I think we will be running 15 minutes before our break, this will be the longest distance we have ran at on time but we can do it. I know we will succeed and support each other in our journey. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
