RSS

breaking the mental block

13 Oct

Ok, so, I woke up and I decided to go for a run/walk this morning. I ate a banana for breakfast and drank some water. Then I got dressed and did my stretches, I even decided to listen to music while I ran. So I got my music ready and headed out for my walk/run. The first 10 minutes were a little slow and hard to do, but then I decided to focus on my breathing (breath in for two steps and breath out for three steps)  and my music. As I was about to start my third running rotation Kelly Clarkson’s “What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger” came on my Pandora station. It is exactly what I needed to make it through the rest of the run. The song empowered me, it made me stronger. At that moment I knew I could run and I could do what I wanted to for so many years. 

You see up until this point in my journey to running I have been mostly walking. Last week I would do my 5 minutes warm-up and cool down walk before I started 6 rotations of 60 second run and 2 minute walk. Well today, I wanted to do better than that so here was my rotation for today: 5 minute warm-up, 90 second run, 2 minute walk, then 3 rotations of run 3 minutea  and walk 2 minutes, then 90 second run and to finish off with a 5 minute walk. When I started the workout I thought I would finished feeling like I was about to die. Needless to say when I finished I felt like I could do more, I could go longer. I think I am actually starting to become a runner. I no longer look at hills, or time, or distance and say I cant do it. I look at them and say I WILL do it, I may be slow but I finish. Im looking forward to running 5k’s, then I want to do 10K’s, and half marathons and then Full marathons. This will take me a while but I will be able to do it and I WILL do it. Good Bye walls, Good bye doubts, I will do a full marathon. 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “breaking the mental block

  1. walkruninspired

    November 6, 2013 at 1:48 am

    Amazing!! I love your drive. I took 2 years off from running due to medical issues and stress. When I got back into it, I felt that I couldn’t even walk fast without getting winded!

    Now, I’m back stronger than before and have been improving my time every 1/2 marathon this season by 2 minutes! Stay focussed. YOU WILL do a full marathon!! 🙂

    Like

     
  2. asuncheerwine

    November 6, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Thank you! 2 minutes off of your 1/2 is great! Keep up your training, I love your blog. You are a great inspiration!

    Like

     

Leave a comment